Coronavirus/COVID-19 Resources and Information

The Goshen Central School District is CLOSED through the end of the 2019-20 academic year, as per Governor Cuomo’s executive order, because of the Coronavirus/COVID-19 public health situation. View the latest updates and information (in English and Spanish) including remote learning resources, exam information, meal distribution plan and more by visiting the Coronavirus/COVID-19 web page.

Online instruction ¦ Video tutorials for online instruction ¦ Educational links for enrichment ¦ Meal distribution plan ¦ Tech support ¦ Childcare services ¦ Instruction for website translation

Board Meeting Minutes for May 21, 2019

An Annual School District Meeting of the qualified voters of the Goshen Central School District, Orange County, New York, was held in the Board Room of the Main Street Building on Tuesday, May 21, 2019.

District Clerk, Maureen Farrell, called the meeting to order at 5:45 a.m.

An announcement was made by the District Clerk that the Special District Meeting notice was publicized in three papers having wide distribution in the Goshen Central School District and conforming to the requirements of the Education Law, Section 2002:

  • The Independent Republican on April 3, 2019; April 17, 2019; May 1, 2019 and May 15, 2019
  • The Times Herald Record (Middletown) and The Chronicle April 5, 2019; April 19, 2019; May 3, 2019 and May 17, 2019

Registrars and Election Inspectors appointed by the Board of Education to serve at the Annual School District Meeting were:

Chairperson: Jeanne Krish

Election Inspectors/Clerks:
Albert Frey
Sharon Lunden
Elaine Kimmel
Katherine Pardo
Barbara Korycki
Ann Riso
Lee Krish
Stella Sanok
Stella Lemmon
Claire Sudol

Barbara Korycki moved the Annual School District Meeting Notice be accepted and authorized the notice not be read.  Claire Sudol seconded the motion and it was adopted by voice vote.

Mrs. Krish read the following propositions and announced the names of the candidates for open Board of Education seats:


RESOLVED, that the Board of Education of Goshen Central School District, Orange County, New York, be authorized to expend the sums of money set forth in the Proposed Budget for the School Year July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020, in the total amount of  $73,249,777, and to levy the necessary tax therefor.


RESOLVED the Board of Education of the Goshen Central School District be authorized to establish a capital reserve fund pursuant to Section 3651 of the New York Education Law to be known as the  District Construction, Reconstruction and Renovation of Facilities Capital Reserve Fund ~ 2019, for a probable term of  ten (10) years, in an ultimate amount of $5,000,000, for the purpose of funding, in whole or in part, capital improvements to the facilities of the District, including but not limited to construction, reconstruction and renovation of facilities and sites, with such funds to be transferred, as available, from end of year budget surplus funds known as unappropriated fund balance and the interest accrued on such funds over the term of the capital reserve fund.


RESOLVED, that the Board of Education of Goshen Central School District, Orange County, New York is hereby authorized to purchase two (2) 64-66 passenger or larger school buses, at a maximum estimated cost of $113,000 each; three (3) 64-66 passenger or larger school buses, at a maximum estimated cost of $111,000 each; one (1) 30-passenger or larger school bus at a maximum estimated cost of $55,000; and one (1) wheelchair van at a maximum estimated cost of $69,000 for an aggregate maximum cost of $683,000; and that the sum of $683,000 or so much thereof as may be necessary, shall be raised by the levy of a tax upon the taxable property of said School District and collected in installments; and in anticipation of such tax, obligations of said School District shall be issued.

Candidates running for the Board of Education – two open seats

Jacob Gardner             Michael Lorenzo                     Jeremy Cassel

Mrs. Krish read:

“Qualifications of a Voter”

1.         Citizen of the United States.

2.         Eighteen or more years of age.

3.         Resident within district for a period of 30 days next preceding the vote.

4.         Registered either for school district elections or with the County Board of Elections before the fifth day preceding Election and Vote.

“Challenge of a Voter”

If any person questions the qualifications of a voter, forms for challenging are available.  After being challenged, a voter who insists that he is qualified may make a notarized statement to that effect and after making the statement, will be allowed to vote.  It is a misdemeanor to falsify such a statement.  No legal penalty accrues to the person making the erroneous challenge.

At 6:00 a.m., Mrs. Krish declared the polls were open. She noted that voting would continue until 9:00 p.m.

Chairperson Jeanne Krish declared the polls closed at 9:00 p.m. and those on the premises were permitted to vote.

The following Board Members and administrators were present for the announcing of the vote results:

Mr. Jason Pucci, President
Mr. Jeremy Cassel, Vice President
Mrs. Martha Bogart
Mrs. Judy Green
Mr. Michael Lorenzo
Mr. Thomas Mullane
Superintendent of Schools
Mr. Daniel T. Connor
Assistant Superintendent for Business
Ms. Louise Lynch
Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum, Instruction, Personnel and Technology
Mr. Jason Carter
Mr. Thomas Heinzelman (Interim)
Mr. Matthew Wentworth
Assistant Principals:
Mr. Kyle Roddey
Ms. Heather Carman
Director of PPS
Ms. Heather Hendershot
Assistant Director of PPS
Ms. Marlene Gaynor
Director of Personnel
Mr. Robert Siracuse
Results of the voting were as follows:

Proposition No.1   (Budget)                                         Yes        763

Proposition No.1                                                          No         312

Total   1,075

Proposition No.2   (Capital Reserve Fund)                   Yes        735

Proposition No.2                                                          No         335

Total   1,070

Proposition No.3   (Buses)                                           Yes        766

Proposition No.3                                                          No          307

Total    1,073

Total Voters   1,083

Board of Education Vote:

Jacob Gardner                            538

Michael Lorenzo                         717

Jeremy Cassel                             648

Write In Votes:

​Joe Connell–3              Susan Armistead​–1      Kevan Ottochain–2

Pete Marrotta-1                        Linda Kroll-1               Austin Brock-1

Doug Bloomfield-1      Bob Kish-1                                                      ​

Ms. Farrell declared the meeting adjourned at 9:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Maureen Farrell
District Clerk