CJH inducts 85 eighth-graders into National Junior Honor Society

Group photo of National Junior Honor Society inductees

C.J. Hooker Middle School administrators, parents and families and community members gathered to celebrate the induction of 85 eighth-graders into the school’s chapter of the National Junior Honor Society on Oct. 12.

This is the fourth induction ceremony for the middle school’s chapter. Fabien Riviere is the NJHS club adviser.

Scholarship, leadership, service, character and citizenship

“More than just an honor roll, NJHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, character and citizenship,” Principal Dr. William Rolón said during his keynote address.

Those characteristics were described by each Faculty Council member who selected the students through a rigorous application process. Members are Margaret Storms, Margaret O’Donnell, Mike Calabrese and Diane Bonizzi.

Rolón stressed that chapter membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but also challenges them to further develop through active involvement in school activities and community service.

Candles representing scholarship, leadership, service, character and citizenship were lit as part of the ceremony’s opening.

As students were called by Rolón, they received a white carnation  — which is  NJHS’ honorary flower, received congratulatory wishes from the Faculty Council, and an award from Rolón and Assistant Principal Heather Carman.

An oath to uphold NJHS principles

As part of the induction, students signed the register book of induction and took an oath signifying their commitment to school’s chapter:  “I pledge to myself to uphold the high purposes of the National Junior Honor Society to which I have been selected. I will be true to the principles for which it stands; I will be loyal to my school; and I will maintain and encourage high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship.”

Additionally, as part of the ceremony, two students were invited to the stage to read their reflection pieces which were selected by the Faculty Council.

Logo of National Junior Honor Society

The National Junior Honor Society is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding middle school students. Today, it’s estimated that more than one million students participate in chapter activities across all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U.S. Territories, and Canada.  Chapter members dedicate countless hours to school and community service projects as well as fundraisers for local, national, and international charities. Instilling these values early in life helps to lay the groundwork for a lifetime of service.

A potluck reception followed where friends and families celebrated the accomplishments of the new inductees.

New NJHS members are:

  • Madison Allan
  • Peyton Andryshak
  • Gabriella Alfieri
  • Caleb Ayau
  • Jason Barnes
  • Yanet Bautista
  • Wyatt Boyle
  • Lauren Carroll
  • Catherine Sirena Casagrande
  • Paul Choi
  • Owen Clark
  • Mia Colangelo
  • Matthew Corrigan
  • Xander Danella
  • Jolina Dong
  • Michelle Ellison
  • Michael Fitzpatrick
  • Stephanie Fixsen
  • Giuliana Fortuna
  • Hannah Fruhling
  • Gianna Gallo
  • Ethan Gamma
  • Olivia Gatto
  • Michelle Gukhman
  • Lea Hludzinski
  • Gabriel Kaufman
  • Lindsay Keane
  • Julianne Kirk
  • Marc Konis
  • Jon Korca
  • Alexa Kriney
  • Kyla Kropp
  • Tyler Kropp
  • Taylor Kunis
  • Zoe Kyrou
  • Catherine Lienemann
  • Ana Loter
  • Anastasia Manouvelos
  • Lexi Marks
  • Maria Mathew
  • Alex McCartney
  • Angel Melendez-Nunez
  • Amanda Melley
  • Hailey Meyers
  • Luke Michalski
  • Hasher Mir
  • Jack Moran
  • Ella O’Brien-Bruno
  • John O’Hara
  • Grace Patel
  • Misha Patel
  • Kiara Paulino
  • Evan Pavlik
  • Norman Peters
  • Emily Petrovics
  • Bryan Pinos
  • Giovanna Pirraglia
  • Julisa Posada
  • Naima Puertas
  • Trinity Pun
  • Eesha Ramanathan
  • Alexa Raquet
  • Faeryn Reilly
  • Quentin Riley
  • Damaris Rodriguez
  • Solimar Rodriguez
  • Breanna Ross
  • Emma Ryan
  • Chloe Saltzberg
  • Isabel Seligman
  • Ayana Suqui
  • Esther Strangways
  • Emily Svede
  • Benjamin Thurtle
  • Brooke Torres
  • Aliana Vanichpong-Barbosa
  • Marissa Villamil
  • Raymond Weinstein
  • Jayda White
  • Jayden White
  • Christopher Whitney
  • Jenna Williams
  • Jacob Wojciechowski
  • Serena Yeddu
  • Michael Young