67 CJH and GHS students named Sojourner Truth Award winners

Sixty-seven C. J. Hooker Middle School and Goshen High School students were honored at the 28th Sojourner Truth Awards Program at SUNY Orange.

The Sojourner Truth Awards Program hails students from grades 6-12 who have excelled in areas such as athletics, citizenship, creative arts, diversity, English language arts, foreign languages, perseverance/effort, and sciences and technology. The program aims to promote education in a positive manner and motivate students who are from groups that are traditionally under-represented in the college population to consider college as a viable and attainable goal.

The following C. J. Hooker Middle School students were honored as Sojourner Truth Award winners:

  • Zahyre Allen, citizenship
  • Ashley Allwood, perseverance/effort
  • Sabrina Arroyo, mathematics
  • Kia Ayagh-Ghezel, mathematics
  • Alma Baez, perseverance/effort
  • Imaan Beg, perseverance/effort
  • Bree Blackman, mathematics
  • Catherine Casagrande, perseverance/effort
  • Giovanna Casagrande, perseverance/effort
  • Rohan Chhabra, mathematics
  • Madison Clark, perseverance/effort
  • Melissa Cortez, perseverance/effort
  • Yoelis DeLaCruz, mathematics
  • Tyler DePoo, citizenship
  • Emily Dong, sciences
  • Sandra Estrada Reyes, citizenship
  • Amanda Fernandez, mathematics
  • Jasmine Fernandez, mathematics
  • Joaquin Garcia, perseverance/effort
  • Kellyanis Garcia, citizenship
  • Gregory Hannibal, citizenship
  • Chelsea Henry, sciences
  • Gabriella Hernandez-Martinez, perseverance/effort
  • Kiley Howell, mathematics
  • Lizaida Irizarry, perseverance/effort
  • Nahal Jangda, perseverance/effort
  • Sheryl Jeanty, perseverance/effort
  • Oakkar Kyaw, mathematics
  • Grace Leva, perseverance/effort
  • Brianna LoCurto, mathematics
  • Elijah Lopez, diversity
  • Andrew Losgar, citizenship
  • Raul Marin, citizenship
  • Elizabeth Martinez, perseverance/effort
  • Zueleyka Martinez, citizenship
  • Areyanna McCarthy, creative arts
  • Francis McGuinness, sciences
  • Jackson Mitterbauer, mathematics
  • Misha Patel, English language arts
  • Kiara Paulino, sciences
  • Naima Puertas, citizenship
  • Vaniece Pun, mathematics
  • Alexander Ramos, mathematics
  • Katherine Ramos Trinidad, citizenship
  • Alexia Rattray, mathematics
  • Drew Rodrigues, perseverance/effort
  • Lukas Rogers, perseverance/effort
  • Jared Seecharran, mathematics
  • Rachel Seo, sciences
  • Brooke Torres, English language arts
  • Gorge Torres, perseverance/effort
  • Gabriella Ukejianya, perseverance/effort
  • Matthew VanRegenmortel, citizenship
  • Duo Rong Rong Yu, mathematics

The following Goshen High School students were honored as Sojourner Truth Award winners:

  • Maya Avery, creative arts
  • Amy Chavez, sciences
  • Nelson Colon, diversity
  • Kyle Farias, mathematics
  • Price-Michael Flores, athletics
  • Saquaya Hilton, athletics
  • Sanah Khawja, citizenship
  • Juliafa Khin, creative arts
  • Ariana Lopez, foreign languages
  • Anya Malhotra, sciences
  • Jenise Medenard-Miller, perseverance/effort
  • Zemi Rodriguez, athletics
  • Denisse Romero, foreign languages

About Sojourner Truth

Sojourner Truth lived in the mid-Hudson Valley after escaping from slavery. She is hailed as one of the most distinguished and highly regarded women of the 19th century. Born Isabella Bomefree (later spelled Baumfree) about 1797 in Hurley, N.Y., Isabella was sold four times, until she and her daughter were given their freedom in 1828. Isabella spoke low Dutch until she was about 10 years old and never learned to read or write.

In 1843 she changed her name to Sojourner Truth to better reflect her chosen missions of traveling to show people their sins and telling them what is true. Sojourner Truth is often referred to as one of the most effective and powerful speech-makers of her time.